100 Things to Do in Branson Before You Die front cover-page-0

The experts say, “Write what you know.” Well, what could you know more about than your own hometown? That’s the idea that occurred to me when I was on vacation a few months ago. We were enjoying San Antonio and utilizing a little guidebook called “100 Things To Do In San Antonio Before You Die”. It was easy to jump to just the thing you were interested in, without being bogged down in explanation and history – totally different from the weighty volumes of my own town.

light-bulb-146568986322dLight bulb moment!

  Why not write a book about Branson that would fit in with this series and be a quick reference for residents and tourists alike? I contacted the publishers of that San Antonio book, Reedy Press, and it was the fastest sale of a book idea I’ve ever had! Within hours I had the go-ahead, and a deadline of just a few weeks.

I’ve been working like a madwoman to collect ideas for fun spots to eat, play, learn, and explore. It’s more difficult to try to be brief on each stop than to put all my knowledge on the page, but that was the challenge. (Besides, I can put all that extra info HERE for YOU!)

The manuscript has been completed, the cover art is done, and we expect a publication release date for Spring 2018. Stay tuned for ordering info and more tips about the Branson area!

  • – “100 Things To Do In Branson Before You Die” by Karen Nelson (Reedy Press 2018)
  • Photo courtesy of Branson Convention and Visitors Bureau

Leave a comment